Finding David Ogilvy…the man who was, is and always will be a legend

In the last week I’ve become pretty obsessed with advertising and marketing campaigns…in fact, what actually happened, is that I had a shot of advertising-heroin when I went to the Cannes Lions festival in France last week thanks to the work I get to do for Nokia.

Cannes didn’t inspire me to achieve something that seemed glamorous or unobtainable, it showed me that I’m already doing something that I love and find fascinating on a daily basis.

 

David_ogilvy

For someone who’s been in this industry for almost three years, I’d like to think that knowing who and what David Ogilvy was all about would be a standard, but the way I see it, three years isn’t a very long time…and I’m not here to feed you rubbish, so I’ll be honest…I knew the agency, but I never knew the man.

Last week was the 100th birthday celebration of the late David Ogilvy, I looked into who he was when I got back to London yesterday and came across the awesome video you see below (via AdWeek) Watch and then read on…

After seeing this video, I realised just why it is I love my work…

Advertising encompasses a variety of disciplines, finely crafted together to bring great ideas to the surface and well executed campaigns to the consumer.

  • We appreciate, study and atempt to predict human behaviour.
  • We interact with, respond to and approch new people every day
  • And finally, we take art, film, philosophy, mathematics, music, geaography, history, language and a variety of other ingredients to use in the marketing mix of awesome! 

We have an immense potential to learn and teach…how we choose to do those things is what will differentiate us in the end.

Just some of the “many” quotes from Ogilvy that will surely stay with me throughout my career: 

“If you can’t advertise yourself, what hope have you of being able to advertise anything else?” David Ogilvy

6

“Be more ambitious, don’t bunt. Aim out of the park. Compete with the immortals” David Ogilvy

4

“Try and inject into every commercial you make, a touch of singularity…” David Ogilvy

3

“It’s the lack of ambition which cripples most people and makes them so pedestrian in the advertising creative business” David Ogilvy

2

“Tell the truth, but make the truth fascinating. You can’t bore people into buying your product, you can only interest them in buying it.” David Ogilvy

 

1
One Comment Add yours

  1. Tom M says:

    Great post Ricc, like the quotes too…

Leave a Reply

